As the highest honor from the School of Public Health, the Distinguished Terrapin Award recognizes outstanding professional achievement, service to the school, cultivation of a culture of philanthropy and/or advancement of the Dean’s strategic priorities. 

Awardees have the opportunity to engage with the School of Public health community through speaking engagements and mentoring opportunities. 

Honorees are recognized during the annual Dean’s Dinner and Distinguished Terrapin Award Ceremony.

Nomination Criteria

  • Nominees must be a part of the School of Public Health community (e.g. volunteer, alumnus/na, community partner, former faculty or staff member, etc.). They do not have to be an alumnus/a. Current employees are not eligible.
  • Nominees must be distinguished in their profession.
  • Nominees must reflect the core values of UMD and SPH.
  • Nominees must be able to attend the Dean’s Dinner and Distinguished Terrapin Award Ceremony on May 1, 2020, at the University of Maryland Samuel Riggs IV Alumni Center.

Please review the School of Public Health's Strategic Plan for more information about our values and priorities. 

Self-nominations are welcome, and self-nominees are encouraged to provide supporting materials. 

The nomination deadline for the 2020 award cycle has closed.
The nomination process for the 2021 award cycle will be announced later this year. 

Nominations are reviewed by the School of Public Health’s Distinguished Terrapin Award Selection Committee comprised of the dean, assistant dean for development, two department chairs, a dean’s council member, and previous winners.

Up to four awardees are selected each year, one per category of volunteer, alumnus/na, community partner and former faculty or staff member. Though a person may only win once, nominations will carry over into the next year so long as nominees remain eligible.

Read about the 2020 Distinguished Terrapins »