Skip to main content

The SPH Inducts Students, Faculty, Alumni And Honorary Delta Omega Members

Back to News
SPH News red placeholder image

The Gamma Zeta chapter of the Delta Omega Honorary Society in Public Health at the University of Maryland School of Public Health is pleased to announce its 2018 inductees. At the induction ceremony and awards reception on May 14, 2018, Dean Boris Lushniak and Principal Associate Dean Dushanka Kleinman inducted 16 students, seven faculty members, five alumni and one honorary member, Mr. Mark Luckner. The ceremony also recognized student research poster winners from each department of the school.

Founded in 1924, Delta Omega is a national honor society existing to encourage research and scholarship among graduate students of public health and to recognize attainment and achievement in the field of public health. With over 50 active chapters, Delta Omega and its members are dedicated to ensuring the quality of the field of public health and to the protection and advancement of the health of all people.

The Gamma Zeta chapter of Delta Omega was established at the UMD School of Public Health in 2011 to honor our distinguished students, alumni, faculty, and honorary members. Election to Delta Omega is based on high academic standards and outstanding performance in scholarship, teaching, research and community service. Election of membership in Delta Omega is intended to not only recognize merit, but also to encourage and further excellence in and devotion to public health work.

The new Gamma Zeta members include the following graduating students:  

Naheed Ahmed, PhD ’18 (Family Science)
Brenton Andreasik, MHA ’18 (Health Services Administration)
Kaley Beins, MPH ’18 (Applied Environmental Health)
Marci Deloatch, MPH ’18 (Health Services Administration)
Terrel Everette, MPH ’18 (Kinesiology)
Julie Fife, PhD ’18 (Family Science)
Nicole Filion, MPH ’18 (Health Services Administration)
Allison Hanley, PhD ’18 (Epidemiology and Biostatistics)
Emily Kjellman, BS ’18 (Kinesiology)
Meaghan McHugh, PhD ’18 (Behavioral and Community Health) 
Natalie Moyer, BS ’18 (Family Science)
Arielle Ocampo, MPH ’18 (Kinesiology)
Sara Olsen, MPH ’17, PhD student (Kinesiology) 
Roshitha Paul, MPH ’18 (Epidemiology and Biostatistics)
Elizabeth Seaman, PhD ’18 (Behavioral and Community Health)
Yanfang Zhang, MPH ’18 (Epidemiology and Biostatistics)

Faculty inductees included: 
Dina Borzekowski, EdD, Research Professor of Behavioral and Community Health 
Cher Dallal, PhD, Assistant Professor of Epidemiology and Biostatistics
Andrew Fenelon, PhD, Assistant Professor of Health Services Administration
Amy Lewin, PsyD, Assistant Professor of Family Science
Lesliam Quirós-Alcalá,  PhD, Assistant Professor of Environmental Health
Stephen Roth, PhD, Professor of Kinesiology  
Sushant Ranadive, PhD, Assistant Professor of Kinesiology

Alumni inductees included:
Melissa DeSantiago, MPH ’17 (Applied Environmental Health)
John Hart, PhD ’17, MS ’12 (Family Science)
Sylvette La Touche-Howard, PhD ’12 (Behavioral and Community Health)
Kathleen Savoy, MHA ’13 (Health Services Administration)
Sonja Williams, MPH ’09 (Epidemiology and Biostatistics)

The honorary member inducted for 2018 was Mr. Mark A. Luckner, Executive Director of the Maryland Community Health Resources Commission. The honorary inductee for 2017, Dr. Maura Dwyer, who is the Senior Health Policy Advisor for the Health Enterprise Zone Initiative of the Maryland Department of Health, was also recognized because the ceremony was not held last year. 

Mr. Luckner, who is the Executive Director of the Maryland Community Health Resources Commission, leads efforts to bolster Maryland’s safety net infrastructure and expand access to affordable, high-quality health care for underserved communities. He has partnered extensively with the UMD School of Public Health on projects including the Health Enterprise Zones initiative of the Maryland Department of Health. 

For more information about Delta Omega, please visit the National Chapter’s web site at

Delta Omega Gamma Zeta
Delta Omega Gamma Zeta

Photo Gallery From Delta Omega Gamma Zeta Induction Ceremony 

  • Categories
  • Students
  • Faculty
  • Alumni
  • Departments
  • Department of Behavioral and Community Health
  • Maryland Institute for Applied Environmental Health
  • Department of Epidemiology and Biostatistics
  • Department of Family Science
  • Department of Health Policy and Management
  • Department of Kinesiology
  • School of Public Health