Brit I. Saksvig
Associate Clinical Professor, Office of the Dean
Director of Graduate Student Services
Other Affiliations: SPH, Center for Health Equity, Horowitz Center for Health Literacy
Campus: UMD | Building: SPH Building | Room: Room: 2316 SPH Building
Phone: (301) 405-2491 |
Office Hours: 

Please call or e-mail for appointments.

CV / Resume
PDF icon CV Saksvig.9.17.19.pdf

As the Director of Graduate Student Services, Dr. Saksvig oversees graduate student recruitment, admissions, the MPH internships, and professional development activities for the School of Public Health. Dr. Saksvig's area of research is primarily related to physical activity, nutrition and obesity in children, adolescents and adults. Specifically, understanding individual, social, and environmental factors associated with physical activity; examining ethnic differences in physical activity and dietary behaviors; impact of physical activity on health outcomes (e.g. obesity); and designing and evaluating interventions to promote physical activity. Her research also includes understanding the impact of environmental changes or policies on physical activity and dietary behaviors. Dr. Saksvig was the Director of Graduate Studies for the Department of Epidemiology and Biostatistics from 2009-2019 and Associate/Assistant Chair from 2013-2019. 

Education and Training

Ph.D. Johns Hopkins University Bloomberg School of Public Health (2002) M.H.S. Johns Hopkins University Bloomberg School of Public Health (1996) B.A. St. Olaf College (1989)


KNES 602 Physical Activity Program Planning and Evaluation

Honors and Awards
  • Fulbright Fellowship, Canada-US Fulbright Scholar, 1998-1999.
  • Harry D. Kruse Award in Nutrition, The Bloomberg School of Public Health, Department of International Health, Division of Nutrition, 2000.
  • Clinical Loan Repayment Program, National Institutes of Health, 2004-2006.
  • Inducted into the Gamma Zeta Chapter of the Delta Omega Society, 2015.
  • ADVANCE Career Development Series for Professional Track Faculty, 2015-2016
  • ADVANCE Leadership Fellow, 2018-2019