Skip to main content

The Global Health Initiative: People

Leadership

Portrait of Dina Borzekowski

Dina Borzekowski

Research Professor, Behavioral and Community Health
Director, Global Health Initiative
dborzeko@umd.edu
Portrait of Elisabeth Maring

Elisabeth Maring

Associate Clinical Professor, Family Science
efmaring@umd.edu

Participating SPH Faculty and Staff

Portrait of Steven Ault

Steven Ault

Lecturer, Epidemiology and Biostatistics
sault@umd.edu
Portrait of Muhiuddin Haider

Muhiuddin Haider

Clinical Professor, Maryland Institute for Applied Environmental Health
mhaider@umd.edu
Portrait of Donna E. Howard

Donna E. Howard

Associate Professor, Behavioral and Community Health
dhoward1@umd.edu
Portrait of Ghaffar Ali Hurtado Choque

Ghaffar Ali Hurtado Choque

Assistant Professor and Extension Specialist, Family Science
ahurtado@umd.edu
Portrait of Hongjie Liu

Hongjie Liu

Professor and Department Chair, Epidemiology and Biostatistics
hliu1210@umd.edu
Portrait of Mona Mittal

Mona Mittal

Associate Professor , Family Science
mmittal@umd.edu
Portrait of Mitch Mokhtari

Mitch Mokhtari

Professor, Family Science
mokhtari@umd.edu
Portrait of Amy R. Sapkota

Amy R. Sapkota

Professor, Maryland Institute for Applied Environmental Health
Director, CONSERVE Center of Excellence
Director, UMD Global STEWARDS NSF Research Traineeship (NRT)
ars@umd.edu
Portrait of Amir Sapkota

Amir Sapkota

Professor, Maryland Institute for Applied Environmental Health (MIAEH)
amirsap@umd.edu
Portrait of Kirsten Stoebenau

Kirsten Stoebenau

Assistant Research Professor, Behavioral and Community Health
kstoeben@umd.edu
Portrait of Marie Thoma

Marie Thoma

Assistant Professor, Family Science
mthoma@umd.edu
Portrait of Paul Turner

Paul Turner

Associate Professor and Director of Graduate Studies, Maryland Institute for Applied Environmental Health
pturner3@umd.edu

Other Contributors

In January 2021, the GHI launched the MARS group. In several fun and interactive meetings, this diverse and enthusiastic MARS group created and massaged the vision, mission and goals for the GHI. 

MARS group of the Global Health Initiative
Image of zoom meeting of Undergraduate student task force for the global health initiative

A team of undergraduate students propose and lead GHI events and activities. This group also advises educational activities. If interested in joining this group, contact Dr. Borzekowski.